Friday, July 18, 2008

A Daughter's Inheritance

Title: A DAUGHTER’S INHERITANCE
Authors: Tracie Peterson and Judith Miller
Publisher: Bethany House Publishers
January 2008
ISBN: 978-0-7642-0364-0
Genre: Inspirational/historical women’s fiction

Fanny Broadmoor feels as close to her cousins, Amanda and Sophie as if they were sisters, even through Fanny lives with her grandfather since her father committed suicide when she was eleven. When Fanny’s grandfather dies, Fanny is still not an adult, but she inherits her father’s one-third of the estate.

The family is in an uproar when they discover that a minor has inherited a third, and the terms of the will has the entire clan angry at Fanny for some of the clauses in the will. Such as the one where the family must continue to spend summers on the Island. Fanny is the only member of the family who actually enjoyed the time spent on the Island.

Fanny has had a long-time crush on her family boat-keeper, Michael, but the inheritance shows her how oppressive society is…and that she may be trusting the wrong people.

A DAUGHTER’S INHERITANCE is book one in The Broadmoor Legacy series. I enjoyed looking over the family tree included in the beginning of the book, and trying to guess how all the people might come into play in the story.

Both Miller and Peterson are master story-tellers, and in spite of such a large cast, they expertly wove all the different personality types and different stories into a book that is good for hours of reading. I enjoyed getting to know the characters, and hoped Fanny would not end up losing all her extended family with her grandfather’s death.

Fans of both Miller and Peterson won’t want to miss A DAUGHTER’S INHERITANCE. Available now, at your favorite bookseller, or on-line. $13.99. 383 pages.

No comments:

Be Strong and Courageous by Laura V. Hilton

“Be strong and very courageous. Be careful to obey all the law my servant Moses gave you; do not turn from it to the right or to the...