Saturday, January 12, 2013

The Lesson


Title: THE LESSON
Author: Suzanne Woods Fisher
Publisher: Revell
January 2013
ISBN:  978-0-8007-1989-0
Genre: Amish

Sometimes love shows up when you least expect it.

Nineteen-year-old Mary Kate Lapp yearns for adventure, but all she seems to find is trouble. Her dreams of travel have taken a backseat to her assignment to teach school this year. Nothing exciting ever seems to happen in her sleepy Amish community.

But when a sudden and unexplained death conveniently coincides with the arrival of a mysterious young man, M.K. is frustrated that no one takes it seriously. She's determined to take matters into her own hands and get to the bottom of it. Will she find more than she bargained for?

Centered on one of bestselling author Suzanne Woods Fisher's most loved characters, THE LESSON is the Stoney Ridge Seaons story fans have been waiting for. With a surprise at every turn, a gentle romance, and a shocking answer to an old family mystery, THE LESSON is the dramatic conclusion to the Stoney Ridge Seasons series. Readers will want to read the first two books The Keeper and The Haven as these books really are not *completely* stand-alone. They are a continuous story. You can read them out of order and not get lost, but it will lose some in the telling.

I loved getting to know Mary Kate from the previous books. She is a very precocious child—and young adult—and oh, so dramatic! She needs to be kept busy to be kept out of trouble, but even then, trouble seems to find her.   

Right after the death of the sheep farmer, Mary Kate accidentally bumps into the current schoolteacher. The teacher insists on an ambulance and going to the hospital, then swears she has a concussion and can’t teach (from being bumped by a scooter…?) and things go from bad to worse when the school boards insists that since its M.K.’s fault, she needs to teach.

There are lessons to be learned, but for M.K. and others and this is a sweet Amish story with a light romance. Fans of Suzanne Woods Fisher and Amish stories in general will want to read THE LESSON. 5 stars. $14.99. 304 pages. 

 Book Info

About The Lesson: 
Centered on one of Suzanne Woods Fisher's most loved characters, this is the story fans have eagerly anticipated. The precocious M.K. is all grown up (well, almost) and ready to take on the world-with surprising results. Fisher's trademark plot twists and turns are as unexpected and satisfying as ever in this third book in the Stoney Ridge Seasons series.
In her wildest dreams, spunky and impulsive nineteen-year-old Mary Kate Lapp never imagined herself behind a schoolteacher's desk. A run-in (literally) with the schoolteacher compels her to act as a substitute teacher, just as her restless desire to see the world compels her to apply for a passport . . . just in case. The only thing of interest to M.K. in the sleepy Amish community of Stoney Ridge is the unexplained death of a sheep farmer that coincided with the arrival of a mysterious young man into the community. Frustrated that no one takes the crime seriously, she takes matters into her own hands. Unfortunately, as tends to be the case for M.K., she jumps headlong into trouble. 
Link to buy the book: http://ow.ly/gtVkj    

Meet Suzanne:  
  
Suzanne Woods Fisher is the bestselling author of the Lancaster County Secrets series and the Stoney Ridge Seasons series, as well as nonfiction books about the Amish, including Amish Peace. She is also the coauthor of a new Amish children's series, The Adventures of Lily Lapp. Her interest in the Anabaptist cultures can be directly traced to her grandfather, who was raised in the Old Order German Baptist Brethren Church in Franklin County, Pennsylvania. Suzanne is a Carol Award winner and a Christy Award finalist. She is the host of internet radio show Amish Wisdom and a columnist for Christian Post and Cooking & Such magazines. She lives in California. For more information, please visitwww.suzannewoodsfisher.com and connect with her on Twitter @suzannewfisher. Get Amish proverbs delivered right to your iphone or ipad! Download the Free App

 Blog Tour Schedule

5 comments:

Juanita Cook said...

I have ordered this book "The Lesson" from B & N. Just waiting for it to arrive at my home. Have read the other two in this series. Great books to read. Love this series.

MelinaMason said...

Absolutely loved this book, I, too was on this book tour, loved it! Great!

MelinaMason said...

I loved this book it was so good, I, too, was on this blog tour and it was awesome. Great review!

Nancee said...

I'm looking forward to adding this book to my library. Thanks, Laura, for a wonderful review!

Suzanne said...

Hi Laura! I got a kick out of your review...you nailed M.K.! Things did go from bad to worse for her...so often. :) Thanks for reading my book, writing a review, and being a part of the blog tour. I'm so sorry it's taken me so long to drop by--I had a wildly busy Christmas (daughter had a baby, son got engaged), and slipped right into January with a manuscript due in as "Lesson" was releasing. Just getting caught up now. But...I am grateful! I don't know you get so much done, Laura! You're amazing. Warmly, Suzanne