Friday, April 3, 2015

Forget Me Not

Author: Miralee Ferrell
Publisher: Mountain Brook Ink (self published)
March 2014
ISBN:  978-0996006811
Genre  historical romance
Series: Love Blooms in Oregon

Can a Lost Love be Redeemed?

Baker City, Oregon, 1881 Seven years ago, Julia McKenzie rejected the man she loved, wanting to experience more of life. Now, at the age of twenty-four, she regrets that decision. What will Seth think of her, when they encounter one another hundreds of miles from home? Will the man she cared for understand the direction her life has taken and love her in spite of her choices?

Pastor Seth Russell has never completely forgotten the girl he once courted. When she shows up in his new home of Baker City, all those feelings return. But why is she sneaking around town late at night? Even more important, will she reject him and break his heart again, or can God heal the breach between them?

FORGET ME NOT is part of the historical romance, Love Blossoms in Oregon series, published by David C Cook.  This book is set after the first book in the series, Blowing on Dandelions,  but before the next two in the series, Wishing on Buttercups and Dreaming on Daisies. Fans will want to read all the books in the series, even though they stand alone.

I enjoyed getting to know Pastor Seth and Julia. I had to applaud Julia for being willing to work with the Chinese and prostitutes when no one else would. I also appreciated Seth’s concern for Julia’s safety when she went into the back alley’s by the salon.

The book ended with an unexpected hook that kept me guessing. If you love historical romance, Miralee Ferrell’s books, or Oregon history, you’ll want to read FORGET ME NOT or any of the other books set in this series. This book can stand alone, but is better enjoyed when reading the series and getting acquainted with the full cast of characters from the Love Blossoms in Oregon series. Again, in order they are: Blowing on Dandelions, Forget Me Not, Wishing on Butterecups,  and Dreaming on Daisies.

4 stars. Available in paperback,  and ebook. 160 pages. 

1 comment:

Miralee Ferrell said...

Thanks so much for taking the time to read my book and post a review. I truly appreciate it! And interestingly, the book is part of the series with Cook, but published by my own imprint, Mountain Brook INK, with Cook's blessing. Such a fun project, and I'm considering another for this series!

The King's Daughters: A Women's Devotional

  The King's Daughters: A Women's Devotional  Paperback – ebook  November 16, 2020 by  B. J. Bassett     (Author) ASIN :  B08NNV1CMB...