Tuesday, January 26, 2010

Jenna's Cowboy

Author: Sharon Gillenwater
Publisher: Revell
January 2010
ISBN: 978-0-8007-3353-7
Genre: Inspirational/contemporary

Jenna Callahan Colby married her high school sweetheart, but he left her soon after she gave birth to her baby boy. It took a long time for Jenna to get over being hurt at love, but now she and her son are living back at home with her parents, and she is part owner of the family ranch.

Nate Langley is the town’s football hero. He fell in love with Jenna as a teenager, but never dated her. He joined the military after 9-11, and after two tours of duty, he’s home. A war hero. And suffering from “Battle Rattles.” He plans to help his father out, but he also takes a part-time job working on the Callahan ranch.

Jenna and Nate quickly rediscover feelings for each other, but the horrors of war are tearing Nate apart. What will it take for him to be able to become the man that Jenna deserves?

I fell in love with the title JENNA’S COWBOY, I think Jenna is about the prettiest name ever, and couldn’t wait to read a story about a woman named Jenna. Jenna is a realistic heroine and so is Nate. I felt kind of sorry for Nate for his trauma, and for Jenna for taking some tackles when he felt insecure.

JENNA’S COWBOY is very tightly written, and I had no problem with the story until about the middle when it started dragging a bit. But it soon picked back up, and I was anxious to see how Nate would end up solving his postwar disorder. It is a very realistic problem for our military hero to have, and I was glad to read a book with that in it. Most military heroes in books seem to have no lasting effects, and this was a welcomed change. $14.99. 330 pages.

“Available January 2010 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”

When Jenna’s cowboy returns to their small hometown in Texas,
she discovers that the memories of the past aren’t so easy to shake after all

Popular author Sharon Gillenwater releases a new novel, Jenna’s Cowboy, set in the beautiful part of West Texas where she grew up as the debut novel in The Callahans of Texas series.

Readers meet Jenna Callahan, who has a young son and is working hard at her father's ranch. She's content with her life. But she never expected to see Nate Langley back in town—the first guy she ever noticed, the very same one her father sent away all those years ago. And she never thought the attraction they felt would be as strong as ever.

Jenna's cowboy has some healing of his own to do, though, after two tours of duty in the armed forces. With the help of good friends, strong faith, and a loving family, he hopes to put the horrors of the past behind him—and become the man Jenna deserves.

With an emphasis on simple acts of love, Jenna's Cowboy gives romance readers what they want most: a love story with a Texas touch. This contemporary novel will appeal to fans of Debbie Macomber and Lisa Wingate.

Sharon Gillenwater was born and raised in west Texas, and loves to write about
her native state. The author of ten novels, she is a member of ACFW and Romance Writers of America. When she's not writing, she and her husband enjoy spending time with their son, daughter-in-law, and adorable grandson. She lives in Port Angeles, Washington.

Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group, offers practical books that bring the Christian faith to everyday life. They publish resources from a variety of well-known brands and authors, including their partnership with MOPS (Mothers of Preschoolers) and Hungry Planet.

For more information, visit www.RevellBooks.com.

No comments: