Tuesday, March 8, 2016

You're the One That I Want

You're the One That I Want Christiansen Family #6 

ebook,  paperback

by Susan May Warren

  • Print Length: 385 pages
  • Publisher: Tyndale House Publishers, Inc. 
  • Publication Date: February 1, 2016
  • ASIN: B012P6RPZO
Owen Christiansen has been in a downward spiral since an injury ended his NHL career. But a job on an Alaskan crabbing boat offers a fresh start . . . maybe even a shot at romance with Elise “Scotty” McFlynn, the captain’s daughter.

Used to being one of the guys, to never relying on anyone, Scotty doesn’t believe in happily ever after—especially with someone like Owen. Her instinct is confirmed when Casper Christiansen arrives to drag his prodigal brother home, bringing with him a truckload of family drama—and even worse, the news that Casper is wanted for questioning in connection to a crime back in Minnesota.

But Owen is more than the sum of his mistakes, a truth both he and Scotty discover when she escorts both brothers to Deep Haven as part of her new job on the Anchorage police force. Thrust into an unfamiliar world of family, faith, and fresh starts, Scotty begins to see potential for a happy ending . . . if she’s brave enough to embrace it.

My thoughts: YOU’RE THE ONE THAT I WANT by Ms. Warren is the sixth and final book in the Christiansen Family series. The books, in order, are: The Wonder of You, Always on My Mind, When I Fall in Love, It Had to be You, and Take a Chance on Me. There is also a novella: I Really Do Miss Your Smile. I enjoyed getting reacquainted with the Christiansen family in YOU’RE THE ONE THAT I WANT and finding out what Owen was up to from when he disappeared in Always on My Mind, the second book in the series. I loved seeing how a year away from his family had changed him. I also had to know what happened with Casper.

Ingrid Christiansen is someone I’d like to have as a friend. A good Christian mom with plenty of experience in letting kids go, to make and learn from their mistakes.

I’m sad to see the Christiansen family series come to an end but hope I’ll see more of them as Ms. Warren writes an occasional new Deep Haven novel, or possibly even a new Alaskan series. 5 stars.

No comments:

Book Spotlight: To Love and Cherish (Bridal Veil Island)

To Love and Cherish  (Bridal Veil Island #2)  Paperback – ebook, audio August 1, 2012 by  Tracie Peterson     (Author) and Judith Miller Pub...