Saturday, September 9, 2017

Web of Shadows

Web of Shadows

Agents Under Fire #2

Paperback, ebook

February 29, 2016

by Susan Sleeman

  • Paperback: 276 pages
  • Publisher: Bell Bridge Books 
  • ISBN-13: 978-1611946741

"Web of Deceit is a must read for any fan of suspense."—Seattle Examiner 

"Don’t bother bringing a beverage to drink while you read because you will forget it is there the story is that intense. Ms. Sleeman batted a thousand on this one. I highly recommend it."—

A killer is lurking in the shadows . . . 

FBI agent Nina Brandt loves her job. Sure, she’s made some enemies, but she knows she’s making the world a better place. It’s lonely at times, but she has good friends to get her through. It’s a good life. 

Little does she guess that her past is about to come back and haunt her . . . in more ways than one. 

When Navy SEAL Quinn Stone learns that his geeky younger brother, Ty, hacked into the TSA’s No Fly List, he would rather take a bullet than go to his former fiancée, Nina Brandt, for help. Five years ago, she resented his commitment to his SEAL team and gave him an ultimatum—her or the team. He chose the team. But now, he and his brother have no other choice . . . not if he doesn’t want to see the kid behind bars. 

Nina has finally moved on, but she can’t resist Ty’s plea for help . . . especially when he drops a bomb that could rock national security. The laptop he’d used to hack the TSA has been stolen. Fearing terrorists would do just about anything to get their hands on this list, Nina agrees to take the case to her team. After all, this will become an FBI matter and Quinn’s help won’t be needed . . . as much as she’s starting to want it. 

But the thief has more on his mind than just the list. He’s been waiting for a chance to get back at the woman who sent him to prison two years ago. And he intends to make her pay—in the most painful way possible . . . 

Meet the Agents Under Fire - Kaitlyn Knight, Nina Brandt, and Becca Lange

Book 1 - Web of Deceit featuring Kait Knight - March - 2015

Book 2 - Web of Shadows featuring Nina Brandt - February - 2016
Book 3 - Web of Secrets featuring Becca Lange - May  - 2016

My thoughts:  WEB OF SHADOWS is the second book in Ms. Sleeman's Agents Under Fiire series. These are not Christian books, but they are sweet, clean reads.  I liked Nina, I loved her southern roots and persona. Living in the south, I am very familiar with the raising Nina had. 

Quinn is definitely a man's man, a hero in every way, putting his country first and family second.  Nina broke up with him years ago because she didn't feel important enough to him when he brushed her aside to rush off to save the world. Quinn does have anger issues and control issues which made him the perfect match to muscle in when Nina needed a hero. 

The reader knew who the villain was in the book, and they knew why, and they even knew how, but the suspense was in how the agents had to figure it out before the clock ran out and someone else died.  I absolutely had to keep reading and read this entire book in one afternoon.  At least I won't be up all night! 

If you like romantic suspense, Susan Sleeman is one of the best of the best.  Don't miss these books or any of her other books. 

I was given a free copy from netgalley. All opinions are my own. 

Susan Sleeman is a bestselling author of clean-read and inspirational romantic suspense books. Awards include Thread of Suspicion— 2013 Romantic Times Reviewers Choice Best Book Award; and No Way Out and The Christmas Witness— Daphne du Maurier Award for Excellence finalists. In addition to writing, Susan also hosts the popular website She currently lives in Oregon with her husband. They have two daughters, a son-in-law, and an adorable grandson. To learn more about Susan stop by any of these locations on the web. 




No comments:

Book Spotlight: To Love and Cherish (Bridal Veil Island)

To Love and Cherish  (Bridal Veil Island #2)  Paperback – ebook, audio August 1, 2012 by  Tracie Peterson     (Author) and Judith Miller Pub...