Saturday, November 11, 2017

The Gift



The Schwartz family is happy to be spending Christmas on their new farm in Hart County . . . until gunshots remind them that someone wants them gone in Shelley Shepard Gray’s "The Gift" (plus a 5-book giveaway)! http://bit.ly/2z4K9K2

Blog tour for "The Gift" starts today: http://litfusegroup.com/author/SGray


The Gift

by Shelley Shepard Gray  

Amish Fiction
Avon Inspire

The Amish of Hart County Book 3             

The Schwartz family is happy to be spending Christmas on their new farm in Hart County. But when Susanna Schwartz hears gunshots that causes her buggy to overturn, and then her little sister falls through a wooden bridge into the icy creek, it becomes clear from these dangerous "accidents" that someone wants them gone.
Neil Vance has been heartbroken ever since his parents lost their family farm. He knows it's not the Schwartz family's fault, but he can't help but be resentful. Until he meets Susanna. She is kind-hearted and bold, and Neil can't stop thinking about her pretty green eyes.

Neil thinks the accidents are just that, but Susanna's father is convinced the Vance family is responsible. Susanna refuses to believe Neil would do anything to harm her. She's fallen in love with him and knows he is a good man. But her family is ready to pack up and move, and time is running out to uncover the truth before someone gets hurt. . . or worse.


My thoughts: THE GIFT is the third book in the Amish of Hart County series by popular author Shelley Shepard Gray, but it easily stands alone. This one is also a Christmas book, but could be read at any time of the year. 

Written in Ms. Gray's sweet voice, the story is everything you come to expect from a Shelley Shepard Gray novel. Sweet. Innocent. Engaging. 

Sue and her family are new to Hart County, but they expected to quickly make friends and be accepted. Instead, Sue is shot at right away, and while they missed her and the buggy, they did spook her horse, causing an accident, the loss of a valuable horse and buggy, and fear. Then a fence is broken down. When their bridge is deliberately sabotaged it seems plain as day someone is trying to scare them away. But who?

I had my suspicions who was behind it, but I'm not going to tell you who or if I was right or not. 

If you like romantic suspense but are the screamish sort, there is nothing remotely scary about Ms.. Gray's stories. Ever. Or at least not yet.  No dead bodies, and nothing jumping out and going boo. But it is engaging and you have to keep reading to find out who-dun-it, or if you guess early on, to see if you are right. Why was fairly evident. 

There are two romances in the story, too. Four point-of-views. 

Fans of Shelley Shepard Gray and Amish fiction will want to read this book.

I was given a copy free. All opinions are my own.  

Learn more and purchase a copy.



 Meet the Author
Shelley Shepard Gray is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author, a finalist for the American Christian Fiction Writers prestigious Carol Award, and a two-time HOLT Medallion winner. She lives in southern Ohio, where she writes full-time, bakes too much, and can often be found walking her dachshunds on her town's bike trail.

Find out more about Shelley at http://www.shelleyshepardgray.com.

 Blog Tour Schedule

4 comments:

Marilyn R. said...

The Gift was an engaging story. All the "accidents" kept the pages turning to see what was going to happen. A good read this Christmas season.

Molly Frederick said...

I would love to win this!!

Carole Smith said...

I live Shellys books! I'd love to win this!

Debbie H. said...

This book, The Gift, sounds great. Can hardly wait to read it. Thanks for the chance to win.

Little Duckling's Easter Prayers

Little Duckling's Easter Prayers by   Kasia Nowowiejska   (Illustrations) zin Grade Level:  Preschool and up Board b...