Wednesday, May 20, 2015

Seasons of Tomorrow

Author: Cindy Woodsmall          
Publisher: Waterbrook Press
April 2014
ISBN 978-0307729989
Genre: Amish / Women’s fiction

As love restores Rhoda, a sudden tragedy is the test of faith she never saw coming.

More settled in her heart than ever before, Rhoda Byler feels a newfound confidence living in the Old Order Amish settlement she helped establish in Orchard Bend, Maine. Time has helped to heal the wounds of Rhoda’s recent severed relationship, and she finds that even her unusual gift of profound intuition is less of a burden as she continues to seek God’s wisdom for her future. She is happy to be working alongside the King family and the love of her life as they tend and nurture the settlement’s orchard.

Yet when Leah King’s involvement with Englischer Landon Olson becomes known outside of the Maine community, her disregard of the Ordnung could threaten all the Orchard Bend Amish are building. In the midst of addressing the discord, a shocking tragedy challenges the young settlement like never before, threatening to uproot Rhoda’s peace and the future of everything she holds dear.

When several members of Orchard Bend Farms are displaced, the estranged King brother is called upon to return. Can those who founded the new Amish community in Maine unite Or will the lingering pain of past hurts and present struggles result in the end of their dreams?

SEASONS OF TOMORROW is book 4 in Ms. Woodsmall’s Amish Vines and Orchards Series, and readers should read the previous books in this series as they do not stand alone. They are: A Season for Tending, The Winnowing Season, For Every Season, and SEASONS OF TOMORROW.

Books that have long series that you have to read in order are not things I’m fans of, especially when six months or more pass between books. I like to wait until they are all out to read them.  I wasn’t able to do that with this series, but I was able to quickly remember what happened prior and go from there.

There are four different stories going on in this book with five different point of views. Stephen and Phoebe, Samuel and Rhoda, Jacob and Esther, and Leah and Landon. Samuel, Rhoda, Jacob, Leah and Landon were point of view characters. There are also other secondary characters so readers who get confused with more than three or four characters might want to keep the character list bookmarked so its handy (at the back of the book) to keep people straight.

This book started out skim worthy, but about halfway through it caught my interest and I read through to the end. I enjoyed the last half of the book very much, raising my initial thoughts of “3 stars” up to 4 stars.

Amish women’s fiction fans or fans of Cindy Woodsmall might enjoy this book.

4 stars. Available in ebook, hardcover, audio, and paperback. 336 pages.

I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. 

No comments:

Waiting and Learning by Heidi Dru Kortman

Text: Romans 8:18-19, 23-25 “I consider that our present sufferings are not worth comparing with the glory that will be revealed in ...