Wednesday, May 11, 2016

Vacation Bible School season is coming! Giveaway!

Zondervan is very graciously giving away one commenter a Bible from the theme of their choice to get their VBS resource list started.  Leave a comment below to enter, include contact information. If we can't reach you, you will be disqualified.  



It’s May, and you’ve just been tapped to create an awesome, fun, educational and uplifting Vacation Bible School program for the children in your church this Summer. You’ve got plenty of volunteers waiting on you to direct them with your fantastic plan. You’ve got a full list of excited kiddos all signed up and ready for the fun you’re planning. And you have no theme ideas yet! What do you do??? The folks at Zonderkidz (with additional resources from other great retailers and bloggers) have some fun and affordable theme ideas for your Vacation Bible School program. Check them out!

All of our theme ideas feature some great book and Bible resources from Zonderkidz, Bible stories to feature in your lesson plans for the program, decorating and craft ideas to go along with each theme, and fun activity ideas that you can do with your group. While there are lots of great curriculum kits and VBS programs available in stores and online, these ideas are for those who have a small budget or want to create a program from scratch to fit the needs of their group.

Under the Sea Theme
This summer, Finding Dorie, the much anticipated sequel to the beloved Disney movie Finding Nemo will release. Kids everywhere will be excited for everything under-the-sea related--- which also makes fun theme for Vacation Bible School!

Here are some books and Bible resources for this theme:
·         The Under the Sea Bible (NIrV) http://www.zondervan.com/under-the-sea-holy-bible-nirv
·         Made by God : Sea Creatures (an I Can Read level 2 book) http://www.zondervan.com/sea-creatures
·         Jonah and the Great Big Fish by Rhonda Gowler Greene http://www.zondervan.com/jonah-and-the-great-big-fish
·         Ocean Adventures by Peter Schreimer http://www.zondervan.com/ocean-adventures
·         Ocean Adventures DVD series:

Here are some Bible Stories that tie into an Under the Sea Theme:
·         The Creation
·         Noah’s Ark
·         Jonah in the belly of the big fish
·         The Loaves and Fishes
·         Jesus walks on the water
·         Jesus says “I Will Make You Fishers of Men”

Here are some Under the Sea themed craft kits and décor resources that can be purchased:
·         3D Tropical Fish Stand Ups from Oriental Trading http://www.orientaltrading.com/d-tropical-fish-stand-ups-a2-13732228.fltr?prodCatId=90000+1319+1255
·         Inflatable Tropical Fish from Oriental Trading http://www.orientaltrading.com/inflatable-tropical-fish-a2-49_205.fltr?prodCatId=90000+1319+1255
·         Under the Sea Design a Room Pack from Oriental Trading http://www.orientaltrading.com/inflatable-tropical-fish-a2-49_205.fltr?prodCatId=90000+1319+1255
·         Under the Sea Bracelet Craft Kit from Oriental Trading http://www.orientaltrading.com/under-the-sea-beaded-bracelet-craft-kit-a2-13732313.fltr?prodCatId=90000+1319+1255
·         Under the Sea Bible Verse Sign Craft Kit from Oriental Trading http://www.orientaltrading.com/under-the-sea-bible-verse-sign-craft-kit-a2-13736452.fltr?prodCatId=90000+1319+1255

Here are some fun Under the Sea activities to do using items on hand:
·         Make Cupcake Liner Fish from 4 Crazy Kings Blog http://4crazykings.blogspot.com/2009/07/cupcake-liner-fish.html
·         Paint Seashells for necklaces, paper weights and photo frames
·         Make these adorable Scuba Diver costumes for kids or staff using recyclables, from Parenting.com http://www.parenting.com/article/scuba-diver-21354920 
·         Make Under the Sea stamps by cutting fish shapes from clean sponges and dipping in paints
·         Create some outdoor church yard fishing games with small wading pools and foam fishies
·         Visit the local community pool or lake/beach as a camp group for swim time
·         Visit the local zoo or aquarium as a group. Ask in advance for space if you plan to teach a lesson, do a craft or activity while on site.
·         Create an Under the Sea wall mural or statue display with recyclables, invite parents to check out your “art gallery” at the end of VBS
·         Write your own unique VBS songs by swapping Under the Sea terms for lyrics of popular Children’s songs



The World Builders Theme
Online gaming is very popular with kids as young as five years old. Almost every kid has heard of Minecraft, and many have accounts of their own where they create worlds with their friends. There are countless other games of a similar nature available on smartphones and tablets. For VBS, take the kids away from their screens, but give them a fun game-inspired time using a theme that they know and love!

Here are some World Builder books and Bible resources:
·         Minecrafters Bible (NIrV) http://www.zondervan.com/minecrafters-bible-nirv
·         Picture That! StoryBible http://www.zondervan.com/picture-that
·         The Berenstain Bears Play a Good Game http://www.zondervan.com/the-berenstain-bears-play-a-good-game
·         Faithgirlz: 101 Ways to Have Fun http://www.zondervan.com/101-ways-to-have-fun
·         Adventure Bible: God’s Great Creation (an I Can Read book) http://www.zondervan.com/children/children-s-bibles/god-s-great-creation
·         Beginner’s Bible: David Battles Goliath http://www.zondervan.com/children/children-s-bibles/david-battles-goliath
·         Faith Builders Bible (NIrV) http://www.zondervan.com/faith-builders-bible-nirv

Here are some Bible stories that tie into online games, battles, and world building:
·         The Creation
·         Noah’s Ark
·         Joshua at the Battle of Jericho
·         Mighty Samson
·         David & Goliath
·         Jesus calling the 12 disciples (in online games, players call on other players to participate in battles or group events)
·         The book of Revelations: Jesus’s return and the new Kingdom of Heaven

Here are some crafts and décor for the World Builders Theme that can be purchased:
·         Bright Foam Blocks from Oriental Trading http://www.orientaltrading.com/bright-foam-blocks-a2-61_102-12.fltr?prodCatId=QV
·         Pixel-8 Character Glasses Set from Oriental Trading http://www.orientaltrading.com/pixel-character-glasses-set-a2-13687000-12.fltr?prodCatId=QV
·         DIY Pickaxes from Oriental Trading http://www.orientaltrading.com/diy-pickaxes-a2-13693530-12.fltr?prodCatId=QV
·         DIY Swords from Oriental Trading http://www.orientaltrading.com/diy-swords-pcs-a2-57_6714-12.fltr?prodCatId=QV
·         Inflatable Torches from Oriental Trading http://www.orientaltrading.com/inflatable-torches-a2-13642261-12.fltr?prodCatId=QV
·         Cobblestone Aisle Runner from Oriental Trading http://www.orientaltrading.com/cobblestone-aisle-runner-a2-3_9001-12.fltr?prodCatId=QV
·         Design-A-Room Stone Wall Background from Oriental Trading http://www.orientaltrading.com/design-a-room-mad-scientist-wall-background-a2-70_5617-12.fltr?prodCatId=QV

Here are some fun activities to do using items on hand:
·         Acquire a large number of recycled, stackable boxes of all sizes. Paint them and allow kids to build scenes, rooms or objects for life size world building fun.
·         Have a Learn to Code session with older kids using the free resources on Code.org https://code.org/learn
·         Create your own game characters using graphing paper, from Captain Nintendo Dude https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pli8O-iWDXE
·         Host a Watermelon Carving Contest for teams to create their own edible game characters, courtesy of The Jolly Tomato http://jollytomato.com/2013/08/02/summer-watermelon-carving/
·         Be World Builders in your own community by planting a garden or cleaning up an abandoned lot or helping elderly church members with their yardwork.
·         Plan a scavenger hunt using GPS and Geocaching for a fun new way for teams to discover hunt items on their list.
·         Make your own paper using a kid-friendly activity idea from Tinkerlab http://tinkerlab.com/how-to-make-paper/
·         Play a game of Creepers versus Endermen dodge ball
·         Borrow Lego, Duplo and other bricks and blocks from the church community and host a “Build your favorite Bible story” activity using examples from the Faith Builders Bible
·         Create Minecraft inspired MadLibs using this helpful glossary from MindMum http://www.minemum.com/glossary


When I Grow Up Theme
Kids have fun talking about what they want to be when they grow up! Here’s a fun theme that helps kids explore what they’d like to do in their futures and remind them that God is with them every step of the way.

Here are some When I Grow Up books and Bible resources:
·         The Plans I Have for You by Amy Parker http://www.zondervan.com/the-plans-i-have-for-you
·         The Plans I Have for You Devotional by Amy Parker http://www.zondervan.com/the-plans-i-have-for-you-devotional
·         Baby Wren and the Great Gift by Sally Lloyd-Jones  http://www.zondervan.com/baby-wren-and-the-great-gift
·         Adventure Bible: Joseph the Dreamer (an I Can Read book) http://www.zondervan.com/joseph-the-dreamer
·         Adventure Bible: Noah’s Voyage (an I Can Read book) http://www.zondervan.com/children/children-s-bibles/noah-s-voyage
·         Adventure Bible: Paul Meets Jesus (an I Can Read book) http://www.zondervan.com/paul-meets-jesus
·         Kids Quest Study Bible (NIrV) http://www.zondervan.com/nirv-kids-quest-study-bible-4

Here are Bible stories that relate to this theme:
·         God calls Noah to Build an Ark
·         God calls Moses to lead His people out of Egypt and write the 10 Commandments
·         Joseph, the dream interpreter
·         Jesus calls His 12 Disciples to minister with Him
·         Jesus calls Paul to be a Disciple

Here are some craft and décor ideas for the When I Grow Up theme, that can be purchased:
·         Jobs if you Like Career People Craft Sticks from Oriental Trading http://www.orientaltrading.com/jobs-if-you-like-career-people-craft-idea-a2-13750051.fltr?Ntt=career
·         Police Party Hanging Swirls from Oriental Trading http://www.orientaltrading.com/police-party-hanging-swirls-a2-13715842.fltr?Ntt=police
·         Firefighter Party Hanging Swirls from Oriental Trading http://www.orientaltrading.com/firefighter-party-hanging-swirls-a2-13628441.fltr?prodCatId=90000+2451
·         Doctor’s Office Stickers from Hobby Lobby http://www.hobbylobby.com/Scrapbook-Paper-Crafts/Stickers/Doctors-Office-Stickers/p/18184
·         Child’s Aprons from Oriental Trading http://www.orientaltrading.com/childand-s-aprons-a2-14_358.fltr

Here are some fun activities for this theme that can be done with items on hand:
·         Invite parents and members of the church community to come in each day of VBS and talk about their careers
·         Have children dress up in the uniform for the career they would like to have
·         Honor different careers each day: bake cookies and make tasty snacks as a group in honor of those who cook and bake, using these helpful recipes from Real Simple http://www.realsimple.com/food-recipes/recipe-collections-favorites/kid-friendly-recipes;
·         Have a pet visit day in honor of veterinarians;
·         Practice safety demonstrations in honor of police, firefighters and first responders;
·         Help people in need with a group charitable activity in honor of pastors, missionaries, and social workers;
·         Host a special lunch where kids serve their parents to honor all that parents do for them
·         Host a “Talent Show” where children can sing a song, recite a poem, tell a story, or do a dance that honors the career they want to have.


Angels Everywhere Theme
Children are very fascinated with Angels! They’re guardians and messengers and all around interesting. Explore Angels in the Bible with this fun theme!

Here are some books and Bible resources for the Angels Everywhere Theme:
·         Angels: A 90-Day Devotional About God’s Messengers by Christa Kinde http://www.zondervan.com/angels-a-90-day-devotional-about-god-s-messengers
·         Angels in the Bible Storybook by Allia Zobel Nolan http://www.zondervan.com/angels-in-the-bible-storybook
·         Adventure Bible: Facing the Blazing Furnace (an I Can Read book) http://www.zondervan.com/facing-the-blazing-furnace
·         Beginner’s Bible: Baby Jesus is Born (an I Can Read book) http://www.zondervan.com/baby-jesus-is-born

Here are some Angel Bible stories that tie into this theme:
·         Creation- God created the Angels
·         Abraham and Sarah visited by three angels
·         The 3 Youths in the Fiery Furnace
·         Jacob’s Ladder
·         The Angels Guide Isaiah Through Heaven
·         The Angel Appears to Mary
·         The Angel Appears at the Tomb of Jesus

Here are some Angels craft and décor ideas that can be purchased:
·         Angel Appears to Mary Sign Craft Kit from Oriental Trading http://www.orientaltrading.com/angel-appears-to-mary-sign-craft-kit-a2-13712601.fltr?Ntt=angel
·         Egypt Background Backdrop from Oriental Trading http://www.orientaltrading.com/egypt-backdrop-banner-a2-13732934.fltr?prodCatId=90000+2297+1255
·         Palm Trees Stand Up from Oriental Trading http://www.orientaltrading.com/palm-trees-stand-up-a2-13693015.fltr?prodCatId=90000+1652

Here are some fun activities for the Angels Everywhere Theme to do with items on hand:
·         Make simple Angel wings using paper plates, with instructions from Maker Mama http://www.makermama.com/2009/10/easy-peasy-last-minute-angel-wings-no.html
·         Be angels in your community by helping people in need with a food or clothing drive or a charitable work activity
·         Host an Angel Hair Spaghetti lunch and invite the senior citizens of the church to be served by and dine with the children
·         Make keepsake Coffee Filter Photo Angels with this fun craft from DLTK http://www.dltk-kids.com/crafts/m-coffeefilter-angel.htm
·         Make a simple Angel paperclip ornament or necklace with this easy craft from The Crafty Journal http://craftyjournal.com/easy-paperclip-angel-ornament/
·         Borrow Angel Christmas cookie cutters from people in your church and have children cut out and bake all different kinds of angel cookies from rolled out dough
·         Form a VBS kick ball league and name your teams after the different orders of Angels.
·         Form groups to build giant angel art figures using recyclables and make Angel paintings for an Angel Art Gallery
·         Have an Angel Food Cake Eating Contest--- kids eat slices of Angel Food Cake, piled high with whipped cream, using only their mouths.
·         Sing Angel themed Christmas songs in the Summertime


All God’s Creatures Theme
Animals are all around us---in our homes as pets, on farms providing us with meat, milk and eggs, in the forests, in the sea, and even in the sky. Kids are often curious about the lives of animals and how God relates to them. This fun theme helps kids get in touch with nature and with animals.

Here are some Animal book and Bible resources
·         7 Days of Awesome by Shawn Byous http://www.zondervan.com/7-days-of-awesome
·         Goodnight Ark by Laura Sassi http://www.zondervan.com/goodnight-ark
·         The Beginners Bible: Daniel and the Lions (an I Can Read book) http://www.zondervan.com/daniel-and-the-lions
·         The Beginners Bible: Adam and Eve in the Garden (an I Can Read book) http://www.zondervan.com/adam-and-eve-in-the-garden
·         The Adventure Bible: Elijah, God’s Mighty Prophet (an I Can Read book) http://www.zondervan.com/elijah-god-s-mighty-prophet
·         Made by God: Animals All Around http://www.zondervan.com/animals-all-around
·         Made by God: Curious Creatures http://www.zondervan.com/curious-creatures
·         Adventure Bible (NIV) http://www.zondervan.com/adventure-bible-niv-10

Here are some Bible stories that focus on animals
·         The Creation
·         Adam names the animals
·         Noah’s Ark
·         Daniel in the Lions’ Den
·         Elijah and the ravens
·         The Lost Sheep
·         Jesus rides the donkey on Palm Sunday

Here are some animal themed craft and décor ideas that can be purchased:
·         Awesome African Animal Fact Cups Craft from Oriental Trading http://www.orientaltrading.com/awesome-african-animals-fact-cups-craft-idea-a2-13750047.fltr?Ntt=animals
·         Wild Wonder Magic Scratch Color Animals from Oriental Trading http://www.orientaltrading.com/wild-wonders-magic-color-scratch-animals-a2-13648412.fltr?Ntt=animals
·         Jungle Room Background from Oriental Trading http://www.orientaltrading.com/safari-design-a-room-background-a2-13597009.fltr?Ntt=jungle
·         Forest Plant Stand Ups from Oriental Trading http://www.orientaltrading.com/large-forest-plant-stand-ups-a2-3_9005.fltr?Ntt=forest

Here are some fun animal themed activities to do with items on hand:
·         Invite a Vetarinarian or Zoo staff to come and talk to your group about animals (ask if they can bring a special animal visitor)
·         Take a trip to the local zoo as a group
·         Volunteer as a group, for a day, at a local working farm
·         Make these adorable Handprint Hens from No Time for Flash Cards blog http://www.notimeforflashcards.com/2009/09/hands-on-chicken-craft.html
·         Volunteer as a group, for a day, at your local SPCA
·         Run a dog food and cat food drive to donate much needed food supplies to your local animal shelter
·         Host a “dog wash” event as a fundraiser for your church, children’s ministry or animal charity
·         Have an animal scavenger hunt in your church’s neighborhood to spot signs of animal life native to your area.
·         Take a group nature walk in your local park or forest hiking area to spot animals and explore their habitats.
·         Make Animal masks using this simple craft from Enchanted Learning http://www.enchantedlearning.com/crafts/Mask.shtml



































3 comments:

Connie said...

Wow! This is a great giveaway and even if I don't win, you have included some wonderful resources for the many different themes. I would probably choose the Under the Sea Bible.
Thanks for sharing!
Connie
cps1950(at)gmail(dot)com

Annie B. Stronge AKA Diane Theiler said...

What a great list of resources! Annieban53@gmail.com

lollipops said...

congratulations to Connie!