Tuesday, July 9, 2013

The Tempted Soul

Author: Adina Senft
Publisher: Faith Words
March 2013
ISBN: 978-0-89296-849-7
Genre: Amish/women’s fiction

Carrie Miller longs for children, but after ten years of marriage, that blessing eludes her. So she fills her days with caring for her home, making artistic gifts and fancy cakes, and caring for her flock of chickens, every one of whom has a name and who under no circumstances will go in the soup pot. Carrie also finds support in the friendship she shares with her two best friends Amelia and Emma, and relishes the weekly afternoons they share working on their quilts.

Carrie and her husband Melvin love each other, and together have survived many lean years. If not for the kindness of their church community, they would have had to miss more than one meal a day. But now, Melvin has found work that finally provides a good living. Carrie hopes that having more to eat will finally allow them to start a family. Yet month after month, they remain childless. So when Carrie overhears two English women talking in the fabric store one day about medical options available to non-Amish women in her situation, she takes it as a sign from God. Melvin and the bishop see it differently, however. Is it really God's will that she pursue this, or is her longing to be a mother tempting her to stray from her Amish beliefs?

THE TEMPTED SOUL is book three in Ms. Senft’s An Amish Quilt Novel series. The first two books are The Wounded Heart and The Hidden Life. I didn’t read either book one or two in this series, but THE TEMPTED SOUL did stand alone.

Ms. Senft has some very descriptive phrases, making the scenes come alive. It is a story about one woman’s quest for children, and the adoption theme is something that will relate to women who longed to have children but for whatever reason are unable to.

If you like Amish fiction then THE TEMPTED SOUL is one you should consider. The final instructions for The Crosses and Losses quilt is included at the end… I guess it was divided  into three parts with one part in each of the first two books of the series. $14.99. 320 pages. 

No comments: