Saturday, April 10, 2021

Hide and Seek (Lantern Beach Guardians)

 


Hide and Seek 

(Lantern Beach Guardians 3) 

Paperback – ebook

January 25, 2021

Tuesday, April 6, 2021

Can't Buy Me Love (Deep Haven Collection) +


Can't Buy Me Love 

(Deep Haven Collection) 

Paperback – ebook - audio

March 16, 2021






 

Monday, April 5, 2021

A New Love for Charlotte (A Wells Landing Romance)

 


A New Love for Charlotte 

(A Wells Landing Romance) 

Mass Market Paperback – ebook - audio

March 30, 2021



Renewed faith and happiness await three generations of women in this heartwarming series from Amy Lillard, set in the Oklahoma Amish community of Wells Landing...

With her daughter newly married, widow Charlotte Burkhart should have been content to find a companion for her later years in Amish widower Glenn Esh. Yet, Charlotte longs for more than life has offered her thus far. When she discovers a baby on her doorstep, the child seems like the miracle Charlotte's been praying for. Unfortunately, Glenn doesn't feel the same way. What's a single woman aching to experience motherhood once more to do?

From the moment Paul Brenneman sees Charlotte Burkhart with a new baby, he senses his lovely neighbor and the sweet child are meant to be. Which is why he offers to marry Charlotte and make her adoption dreams come true. No stranger to heartache himself, the stalwart widower knows second chances don't happen every day--especially not with a woman like Charlotte, the first woman in a long time who has him taking a leap of faith that happily-ever-after is still possible...


Marilyn’s thoughts:  “God is in charge.”  “I want a second chance in life.”

 

It was a joy to be back in Wells Landing with the fabulous tale of Charlotte facing midlife issues along with her family members and other residents of Wells Landing, OK. Charlotte is spontaneous in her words and actions but has a tender and caring heart down deep. Her impulsivity gave way to chuckles and tears at times while reading along with wanting to shake her to open her eyes to what was right before her. I appreciate the puzzle night events and the vast difference in suitors Lillard created for Charlotte. This story is filled with some unexpected and unusual events but when faith, praying for answers and discovering being more open with feelings the unanticipated may be the best blessing in disguise.

 

A New Love for Charlotte is the 11th book in the Wells Landing series by Lillard but each one can be read as a standalone. The characters are true to life with them facing issues that are relatable.

 

I received an ARC book from the author and publisher with no obligation to write a review. I have shared my own thoughts.









Sunday, April 4, 2021

From Death to Life By Jenna V Hilton

 


My pitbull lab mix, Skye, has something against squirrels. She just can’t stand them. Every year, when it starts warming up and the squirrels start scampering up and down trees, Skye chases at least one into the cement block steps in front of the backyard shed. One time, Skye was doing her usual act, running back and forth, whining and drooling, so I caught her, picked her up and went inside with her so the poor squirrel could recover from its fright and get out of there. I waited about fifteen minutes. When I went back out to check on the squirrel, it was still there. So, figuring it had died of fright, I started to the cement block, and that squirrel just about scared ME to death when it darted out of there, vaulted the fence and ran off.

It must’ve been a similar experience for those Roman soldiers guarding Jesus’s tomb! He had been crucified, he was dead for three days now, and all of a sudden, there’s an earthquake? And the stone is rolled away and the tomb is EMPTY? I’d like to think that God had a good laugh up in Heaven! God and Jesus love us so much that a little thing like being dead isn’t going to stop Him from saving our lives.

Dear Heavenly Father, thank you so much for your son dying and rising from the dead. Help us to remember what Jesus did, not only on Easter, but every day. In Jesus Name, Amen.



Happy Easter!  He is risen!




Jenna V. Hilton is nineteen, and lives in Arkansas with her parents, two sisters, a brother, and dog.  She is a senior in high school and planning to attend college to become a veterinarian.











Thursday, April 1, 2021

Three Missing Days (The Pelican Harbor Series) #preorder


Three Missing Days 

(The Pelican Harbor Series, 3) 

Paperback – ebook, hardcover, audio

April 6, 2021




Book Three in the gripping romantic suspense series from USA TODAY bestselling author Colleen Coble.

A chilling murder.

Chief of Police Jane Hardy plunges into the investigation of a house fire that claimed the life of a local woman as well as one of the firefighters. It’s clear the woman was murdered. But why? The unraveling of Jane’s personal life only makes the answers in the case more difficult to find.

Her son’s arrest.

Then Jane’s fifteen-year-old son is accused of a horrific crime, and she has to decide whether or not she can trust her ex, Reid, in the attempt to prove Will’s innocence—and whether she can trust Reid with her heart.

Her stolen memories.

Three days of Jane’s past are missing from her memory, and that’s not all that has been stolen from her. As she works to find the woman’s murdered and clear her son’s name, finding out what happened in those three days could change everything.

It all started with one little lie. But the gripping truth is finally coming out.

Praise for Three Missing Days:

"Colleen Coble is my go-to author for the best romantic suspense today . . . a stay-up-all-night page turning story!" – Carrie Stuart Parks, bestselling and award-winning author of Relative Silence

  • Full length romantic suspense
  • Includes discussion questions for book clubs
  • Perfect for fans of Allison Brennan, Terri Blackstock, and Dani Pettrey
  • Part of the Pelican Harbor series
    • Book One: One Little Lie
    • Book Two: Two Reasons to Run
    • Book Three: Three Missing Days




My thoughts (lvh): This story is the t conclusion  to Ms Coble's outstanding series. Fans will want to read these books in order since there's storylines that run through all three books.  This was a page-turner I couldn't put down. 

Ms Coble is a best-selling, award-window with good reason. If you love romantic suspense, you will love this series. 

I was given a copy free and all opinions are my own.









 

Wednesday, March 31, 2021

The Baby Next Door (Indiana Amish Brides, 7)

 


The Baby Next Door 

(Indiana Amish Brides, 7) 

Mass Market Paperback – EBOOK

March 30, 2021









Tuesday, March 30, 2021

Near: Psalm 139 (Jesus Storybook Bible) Board book








Near: Psalm 139 (Jesus Storybook Bible) 

Board book – ebook

January 5, 2021



 

Monday, March 29, 2021

Painted Memories



Painted Memories 

Paperback – ebook

February 18, 2021


She moved on when the love of her life died in the war, but what will happen when she finds out he’s alive?  

Olivia Jernigan never thought she’d get over Grady. But three years after his death, she’s on the verge of marrying Kenneth Wade when she receives a new painting by her deceased fiance. Olivia flees home to learn what really happened to the man she thought died in the Korean War. The man she thought loved her enough to come home for her.

Grady Barnes woke up three years ago in a hospital room with no knowledge of his identity. The only memory to resurface is the image of a woman he can't stop painting. When she suddenly shows up at his painting class, she may help him discover where he really belongs or she may disrupt the life he was building for himself.

Olivia and Grady have a history. But now, they wonder if they still have a future … or perhaps, their love is just a painted memory. 



Marilyn’s  thoughts:  I had marked Painted Memories to read when A. M. Heath first introduced it, so I’m thankful I finally was able to read the finish story. I was on the edge of my seat from the start thinking about all that could happen with Grady going off to fight in the Korean War. I appreciate the dual time line, the unique plot with the hero painting skills, an element of mystery, romance and beautifully and gently woven faith message that all things are possible with God. The special card Olivia received added more intrigue and element of wondering how Heath was going to bring this tale to an end. I knew she would do it in her creative style like all the other books I’ve read by her. I look forward to reading each release in Heath’s Art of Love series. However, this is a standalone book and not connected to Dance With Me, the first one in the series.

 

I received a complimentary e-book from the author and was under no obligation to write a positive review. I have expressed my own opinion.

 

 

 

 

 






 

Sunday, March 28, 2021

The Faith Of A Child By Jenna V Hilton



 I met this puppy, a hound dog. He was about eight weeks old. His owner was in the youth group and their mom had dropped him off at the church because she had an appointment. They decided to drop him off at a doggie daycare instead, but not before the puppy had made rounds through the entire youth group. The tiny little thing never got scared. And that got me to thinking. We are just as safe with God as that puppy was with his owner. And yet, we tend to freak out WAY too easily. It’s easy to forget somehow that God is in complete control of everything. He’s God the whole world in his hands. So, why do we worry? Why do we feel the need to control everything around like we have that power? We all need to remember to trust God with our lives, because He loves us and will never hurt us.


 Dear Heavenly Father, thank you so much for your love and care for us. Help us to trust you with our lives and everything we have. In Jesus Name, Amen.



Jenna V. Hilton is nineteen, and lives in Arkansas with her parents, two sisters, a brother, and dog.  She is a senior in high school and planning to attend college to become a veterinarian.






 

Saturday, March 27, 2021

Candace's Playful Puppy Hardcover – Picture Book

 


Candace's Playful Puppy 

Hardcover – Picture Book, Ebook

January 26, 2021

my thoughts (lvh):   This fun book is all about  getting a new puppy and some of the work that goes into training it. Her puppy even plays what my kids call the  running game--when the puppy  gets loose and runs away. Children will love looking at the pictures and maybe even learn something. It was also fun to look for the hamster. Recommended.  I was given a copy free.  All opinions are my oown.





Hide and Seek (Lantern Beach Guardians)

  Hide and Seek  (Lantern Beach Guardians 3)  Paperback – ebook January 25, 2021 by  Christy Barritt     (Author) ASIN :  B08TY85J5B Publish...