Saturday, March 15, 2014

My Hope is Found

Author: Joanne Bischof
Publisher: Multnomah Books
October 2013
ISBN:  978-1-60142-425-9
Genre: Historical

Gideon O’Riley has been given another chance at a life with Lonnie. But will the fight for her heart risk it all over again?
After finally finding love with his sweet bride Lonnie, Gideon’s heart was torn when a woman from his past claimed to be his true and rightful wife, forcing him away from his family. God’s merciful hand saw Gideon through the heartache, and with Cassie’s blessing, he is able to return home. But his journey back through the Blue Ridge Mountains will hold a trial he never anticipated.

Meanwhile, Lonnie determines to seal off her heart from Gideon, convinced he is lost to her forever. Strengthening her resolve to move on is her growing fondness for the handsome Scotsman, Toby McKee—the young reverend she has come to care for deeply. His proposal of marriage offers a bright future for her and her young son.

Yearning to allow joy back into her life, Lonnie must put aside the broken pieces of her heart that still love Gideon. When he returns to find her betrothed to another, he has to place his hope in God, trusting that the One who redeemed their love once can do it again.

MY HOPE IS FOUND is the third book in The Candence of Grace series. Readers will want to read these books in order as they don’t stand alone. The first book in the series is Be Still My Soul, then Though My Hope is Torn. These poor characters have been through everything imaginable and then some. I didn’t like Gideon at all in the first book. By the second book I liked him somewhat but my heart broke for him. And in this third book I wanted to cry. He’d grown from being an immature boy to a mature man. This book wrapped the series up nicely and made me feel better about reading it. I’d recommend reading these books in order, and back to back.

If you like fiction that will take your emotions all over the board, then Joanne Bischof is one to consider. Discussion questions and author’s notes are included at the end of the book.  $14.99. 352 pages. 

No comments: