Wednesday, November 3, 2010

Autumn's Promise

Author: Shelley Shepard Gray
Publisher: Avon Inspire
August 2010
ISBN: 978-0-06-185237-4
Genre: Inspirational/Amish

Lilly Allen has been pregnant out of wedlock, miscarried and lost her baby and as a result, grew up a lot in the time her parents lived in Sugarcreek. She is a world away in differences from her old friends, and beginning to fit in well in the Amish community she lives in…or so she thinks.

Robert Miller is still mourning the death of his wife, Grace, from three years ago. His friends and family are trying to fix him up with other Amish widows, but the only woman Robert has eyes for is Lilly, a woman he would be shunned for loving.

When Robert and Lilly start to become more than friends, Lilly quickly discovers how she doesn’t exactly fit in with the community. Marriage with Robert could never happen. She would never become Amish—and he would never become Englisch. Is their love doomed before it even begins?

AUTUMN’S PROMISE is the third book in Ms. Gray’s Seasons of Sugarcreek series. The books are a continuation series from the beginning and I recommend reading all the books from start to finish, in order, as they don’t stand alone.

I was looking forward to reading Lilly’s story since Robert started going to the restaurant where she worked and watching her. And the story didn’t disappear. It did drag a little bit in places, but over all, it is well-written and I enjoyed getting to know Lilly better, and getting acquainted with Robert in this book.

If you enjoy reading Amish fiction then you won’t want to miss AUTUMN’S PROMISE or any of the other books in this series. Discussion questions and a prelude to the next book in the series, Grace, are included at the end of the book. $12.99. 310 pages.

No comments: